LD5D week 2: getting to grips with my blogging persona

Ok so writing my first post was fairly easy but a mixture of a super busy week at work and a slight crisis of confidence means I haven’t written any further posts! Now we’re in week 2 of this module I’ve tried to put more thought into who the audience for this blog should be as Michelle advised, I’m hoping this will give me a bit of motivation to write some more posts. I would like the audience to be fellow professionals, working in libraries and more generally in eduction, with a particular interest in learning development, skills development, academic skills…I’m not sure what name to give it 🙂

This week, I have successfully managed to add a page and 2 menu items; I have added a page that lists some of my recent conference presentations and publications that I have co-authored. I am usually really uncomfortable with self-publicity but I think that it is good practice to share, in particular, conference presentations for anyone who couldnt attend in person. Also, I haven’t actually collated a list of all the presentations I’ve done so this has given me a kick up the bum to actually keep a record! I will be adding to this page…

I have found getting my head around WordPress quite difficult but I think that it has so much potential as a tool that I am willing to stick with it! It is also a pain using it with my iPad (first world problems right?!). It looks like WordPress offers so much more than just a chance to blog so I think this might become a mixture between a blog and a website…I’m going to see how it goes, I don’t want to run before I can walk!

Comments

